“It is people, not buildings, that make an institution; and if we can put our hearts to it we can do something worthwhile.”

— Henry Marshall Tory, June 18, 1942

Make a Nomination

Carleton University was established in 1942, because of the dedication and commitment of our founders—a small group of Ottawa citizens, led by Dr. Henry Marshall Tory, who dared to imagine a university in the nation’s capital that would serve Canadians whose education was interrupted by World War II.

It is our individual founders – past, present and future – whose commitment has helped build one of Canada’s most respected universities and whose leadership will ascertain our future.

The Founders Award, Carleton’s highest non-academic honour, was inaugurated in June 1996 to recognize and pay tribute to those individuals who have made significant contributions to the advancement of Carleton through their dedication, generosity and commitment to the values of the university. It is awarded annually, when merited, at Spring Convocation.